If you can’t download your files from FileZilla

I’m copy/pasting two messages from a forum.

I don’t know if this is a common problem. The pretty pathetic search system cannot find anything on this topic and it’s not in the brief FAQ and unhelpful Wiki.

My server connects fine. The server connection is correct and everything in FileZilla is configured. I have the latest version but I cannot download my files off my server. I right click on the index.html file that I want to edit and “Download” is grayed out. I try to drag the file onto my desktop: it doesn’t work. Why can’t I download the files?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!

And the answer 🙂
Have a good hard look to the left and realise where you are planning to download the files to. Then slap yourself on the forehead.
8 thoughts on “If you can’t download your files from FileZilla

  1. i still am having a problem doing this. people keep saying look to left and realise were im trying to download it too but that doesn’t tell me anything!!

    1. The default folder in the left is (This PC) folder that shows the drivers in the computer. (C:/, D:/, E:/, etc.) That is not a valid download folder. If you switch to another folder such as Downloads, Documents or Desktop, it should be fine.

Leave a Reply

